Holy !@*#! I ate pizza! :(

Standard

Yup, I did it. I ate pizza.

It wasn’t one of my shining moments, but damn it was good.  Now that’s not me in the photo, thankfully there is no photographical record of this event, but after much internal quandary I felt it was important to share this information with well, the world or whomever may read this.

“Why?” you might ask. Well, I’ll tell you. It was 3am on a Saturday night and I found myself in the North End shuddering at the thought of only french fries in my Jameson filled belly. I was hungry, dammit! And if you’re gonna screw up and eat pizza, the North End is an admirable place to do so.

Yes, I now realize I did indeed have options that didn’t present to me at the time.  I could have ordered with no cheese.  I could have gotten some type of cheeseless calzone.  I could have gone home at 3am instead of out for pizza. Or I could have just enjoyed having a great pizza and gone back to my vegan diet the next day as if nothing had happened.

I chose the latter.

The reason I share this, despite potential jeers and heckles from the vegan police, is because I am still vegan. That was weeks ago, and it didn’t “turn me back”, so to speak.  I am so much more mindful of the food I consume now than I ever have been.  My body is healthier. My mind is clearer. My heart is more compassionate.

Pizza didn’t break me. I accepted the choice I made and carried on.

Traditionally being vegan is all or nothing.  I challenge that and say that there is a middle way. The slope is not slippery. Hell, it’s not even a slope.  So if you recklessly eat some cheese, don’t jump ship, (wo)/man. If you have to change your online dating profile to read “mostly vegan” instead of “strictly vegan,” yeah…. you might get kicked out of some clubs, but are you doing this for yourself or to be a member?

I say you’re still doing good things.  Just keep on keepin’ on.

2 responses »

    • Cafe Pompei on Hanover St. I think the joint is open til like 4am. It’s become one of my favorite late night post-dancing spots. May I recommend the veggie pizza. It’s loaded with so many awesome vegetables- eggplant, onions, peppers, garlic, mushrooms….mmmmm so good. Just remember to check your bill before you leave. If it’s late at night, there’s a good chance they added the tip on for you already.

Leave a Reply

